Watch Australian Swimmers Association on YouTube Follow Australian Swimmers Association on Twitter

Executive Committee

The ASA Executive Committee consists of ten members and includes both current and former Australian Representatives.  All Executive Members volunteer their time to the ASA to improve and promote the voice of athletes within Swimming in Australia.

The curent Executive Committee members are as follows:


Marieke D'Cruz, President

Annabelle Williams, Vice President

Matthew Abood, Governance Officer

Bronte Barratt

Bronte Campbell

Belinda Hocking

Jake Packard


Marieke D'Cruz-  President

DCruz_ExecAfter two terms as Vice President, Marieke was elected President of the ASA in June 2015.

Marieke made her first Australian Team in 2004 when she swam the 100m backstroke at the Athens Olympics.

Following a few years away from the sport D'Cruz returned rejuvenated in late 2007, winning the FINA World Cup tour in 2008 and a Gold and Bronze medal in the 50m fly and 400m freestyle relay at the FINA World Championships in 2009.
2010 saw her success continue with gold in the 50m fly at the Pan Pacific Championships in California and a gold and silver at the Delhi Commonwealth Games.
A Melbourne University graduate she is married to Jason De'Cruz and lives in Sydney, training under Brant Best at the SOPAC Club.

Annabelle Williams- Vice President

Williams_ExecA two time Paralympian winning three medals including a gold as a part of the Medley relay at the London Paralympics along with a Bronze medal in the 100 fly at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics. In between her two Paralympic appearances Annie represented Australia at the 2010 IPC World Championships, 2011 IPC World Cup along with being one of two women selected for the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games.

Whilst completing her Law Degree at Bond University, Annabelle trained under Denis Cotterell at the Miam Swim Club  returning home to Sydney on completion of her degree tand is currently Legal Counsel at the Australian Olympic Committee.

Matthew Abood- Governance Officer

 A 2016 Rio Olympian and Bronze medalist in the Men's 400m Freestyle relay,Matthew Abood is one of our passionate senior swimmers and member of the Dolphins Leadership team. One of the fastest men in the world, Matt was a semi finalist in the 50m free in Rio and won Gold for Australia as a part of the 400m Freestyle relay at the 2011 World Championships.

Matthew currently works part time at the Commonwealth Bank and works tirelessly amongst the swimming community promoting the sport.

Matthew is married to retired swimmer Hayley White and originally hails from Northern New South Wales.

Bronte Barratt

Recently retired, Bronte is the longest serving member ever of the Australian Swimming team,12 straight years! Bronte made her International debut at the 2005 World Championships in Montreal, Canada. A three time Olympian, Bronte won a Gold Medal as a part of the world record breaking Australian team in the 800m Freestyle relay, she backed that up with a silver in the same event in London along with winning a bronze in the 200m freestyle at the London Games. Finally in Rio, Bronte once again took silver in the 800m relay and finaled in the 200m freestyle, her last individual swim of her career a PB

A Brisbane native, Bronte trained under Michael Bohl at the St Peters Western Swim Club and will commence work with Ernst and Young 

Bronte Campbell

At the 2016 Rio Olympics Bronte was a member of the all conquering 4x100m Freestyle relay team who won Gold in blistering pace which broke their own World Record which they set in 2014. Bronte also qualified for the 100m Final and narrowly missed out on a medal placing 4th by .05 of a second. On the final night of competition Bronte swam in the 50m Freestyle final where she touched the wall in 7th.

The 50m and 100m Freestyle World Champion, she took out both titles at the 2015 World Championships in Russia, becoming only the third female in history to be crowned a dual 50m-100m champion

Belinda Hocking

A three time Olympian Belinda was elected onto the ASA Executive in April 2015. Born and bred in Wangaratta, Belinda has been an integral part of the Australian team since 2008.

At the 2011 World Championships "Bindy" won silver in 200m backtroke and folowed this up with the same result at the 2013 Championships, this swim demosntratinbg her ability to bounce back from adversity following the London Olympics.

A member of the powerful Nunawading SC, Belinda is currently studying Primary school teaching at Deakin University while working part time at the Victorian Olympic Council.

Jake Pakard

A newly appointed ASA Executive member, Jake first made his national team debut in 2014, where he won bronze in the 400 Medley Relay at the Pan Pacfific Championships. A gallant 4th place at the 2015 FINA World Championships, Jake used this experience to propel him to Rio qualification, a PB in the 100m Breastroke and Bronze in the 400m Medley Relay.

With a passion for Animal Biology and surfing, Jake trains under the tutelage of Chris Mooney at the powerful USC Swim     Club on the Sunshine Coast.

Sponsored By

  • GH Foundation
  • Thrive PR
  • BSC
  • PJ